Maybe at one point, you have decided that you do not need your Microsoft account anymore. Or perhaps you just noticed that you are not using it at all, or any of the services Microsoft provides. In this case, you might want to delete your Microsoft account. If this is your case, continue reading this article to find out how.
Things you need to know before deleting your Microsoft account
Once you delete your Microsoft account, you will not be able to use any Microsoft products or services that you have been using. This also eliminates all the services associated with your account, including:
- Files that are saved on your OneDrive
- Xbox Live data and your Gamertag
- Skype ID and contacts
- NuGet.org account
- Outlook, Hotmail, Live, and MSN email accounts
So, before deleting your account, you may want to back up any important files or data from those services and save them locally on your device. You can not remove specific services from an account. You can either keep or delete them all. Keep in mind that if you have any gift cards saved on your Microsoft account, you will lose all that money as well. So, it is essential that you are 100% sure that you are ready for the account deletion.
Reasons why you may be prevented from deleting your account
Microsoft is very cautious when account deletions are in question. For security reasons, they will have to make sure that it is, in fact, you that is trying to delete the account. When you try to delete your Microsoft account, you may need to confirm your identity first. If you have forgotten your account info and had to reset your security info in the past 60 days, you will not be able to delete your Microsoft account. You will have to wait those 60 days before being able to do so.
How to close your Microsoft account
When you have checked everything and are 100% sure that you are ready to delete your account, follow these steps:
- Go to http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=523898
- When you are prompted to sign in to your account, double-check to be sure that it is the account that you are trying to delete, as to not delete a different account by mistake
- Check that the info that the page is displaying is indeed correct, and then click Next
- Read the list and select the checkboxes to acknowledge that you have read them all
- You will be prompted to select a reason for deletion from a list. Choose one of the reasons
- Select Mark account for closure
After you have selected the Mark account for closure button, Microsoft will wait 60 days before permanently deleting your account, in case you change your mind in the meantime or need to access any left data.
During this period, the account is marked for closure but still exists. If you do change your mind and do not want to delete your Microsoft account anymore, just sign back into the account within those 60 days and Microsoft will cancel the account closure, and everything will still be there.